clean eating · easy dinner · healthy dinner · kid friendly · nutrition · Uncategorized

Roasted Radishes

IMG_7937

I love potatoes. Truly, seriously- in any shape or form I love them. My favorite is a little baby  potato cooked in a vat of high content salt water and served with melted butter…if you are not from Upstate New York you may not have ever heard of a salt potato, but trust me. They are amazing, Ah MAZZZZZZZZ ING! But they are also not great for me. Some combination of all that salt, and butter, and the carb heavy calorie of the actual little potatoes. Plus, I’m sure the fact that I can’t stop eating them doesn’t help either. So I try and only make them once or twice a year for my family, but that means I need all sorts of delicious swap out ideas so I get my yummy starchy side dish fix without  over doing it.

I started just chopping the potatoes and tossing them in oil with salt and pepper and roasting them in the oven and I admit it’s not an equal swap but they are still delicious, easy and compliment most of our meals but I knew I could do better so I started experimenting with other root vegetables that have lower calories and lower carb counts to see if any of them were kid approved. guess what?!?! It worked!

 

One of the most surprising hits were the Radishes, here is my favorite recipe using them:

Garlic and Parsley roasted Radishes

Ingredients:

  • Radishes
  • 1-21 Tbsp coconut oil (melted)
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • Fresh Parsley for garnish

Instructions:

Just wash and chop the radishes, toss them in some melted coconut oil, kosher salt and pepper, and bake on a pan lined with parchment paper at 425 degrees for about 25 minutes. Toss them periodocally throughout the cook time for even roasting and sprinkle a few chopped garlic cloves around the pan for the last 5 Minutes of cook time. The radishes are done when they are crispy and a little golden on the outside and soft in the middle. Rip up a few fresh parsley leaves to garnish the radishes before serving and enjoy.

IMG_7936

Leave a comment