Uncategorized

Clean Baking ‘Brownie Bread’

I experiment a lot in my kitchen. I love to bake and my kids love to sample, but they can be pretty hard to please when I try out some of my healthier versions of things. Yesterday I gave a brand new recipe a try and quite honestly when I looked at it fresh out of the oven I was sure it was a complete failure. 

It was supposed to be chocolate pumpkin bread but the batter was really dense and  it never got puffy. It sort of just laid flat and looked a bit too dry in the pan. Before I dumped it into the garbage I figured I would let the kids try it just to see what I could change on the next try. To my surprise they LOVED it! I was totally shocked. My son decided that it was more like brownies than bread so we renamed it brownie bread.

I still think I need to develop a wetter batter and retry the bread I intended to make but these dense ‘brownie’s’ will definitely be added to my list of kid approved recipes.

So here’s how to make it:

Preheat the oven to 350 and lightly grease a bread pan

In one bowl which together the flours,baking soda, cocoa powder, salt and spices 



In a separate bowl combine the grated zuchinni, pumpkin, honey, eggs and vanilla and mix well.


Now add the dry ingredients a little at a time into the wet ones, pour into the pan (it will seem a bit thick) and bake for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. 

These are not super sweet but they are dense and tasty and if you want an extra special treat you can add in chocolate chips and go for the double chocolate brownie!!! YUM. We gobbled most of these up plain but if you want a special treat try topping one with some vanilla Greek yogurt and a few extra chocolate chips for a healthy spin on a brownie sundae.


INGREDIENTS

  • 3/4 cup white wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup grated zuchinni (extra water squeezed out)
  • 1/2 can pure pumpkin purée (7.5oz)
  • 3/4 cup raw honey 
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract 

Preheat the oven to 350.

Lightly grease or spray a bread pan.

Mix dry ingredients well in one bowl, mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Then slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ones a little st s time to mix evenly. Pour batter into the bread pan and bake for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

