avocado · breakfast · clean eating · eggs · kid friendly · real food · Uncategorized

Baked Avocado and Egg

Oh My Goodness, I love Avocados!

I remember the first time I ever had one, my husband and I had just moved to California and his Aunt and Uncle brought us some fresh ones from their tree. I had no idea how to tell if it was ripe or how to get into it. That first experiment ended with a peeled avocado, a huge green mess and very chunky guacamole because the one I tried to use was not ripe and rock hard….now I know better and avocado has become not just one of my favorites but popular with (almost) the whole family. Click here for a quick how to on getting into this amazing food!

If you ask me what it pairs well with I may answer EVERYTHING!!! But other than its standard mexican ingredient friends I have fallen in love with egg and avocado. I believe they are soul mates and I am quite happy attempting all sorts of ways to combine them together.

IMG_2445

This mornings experiment was the ever popular Pinterest post of Baked avocado with egg.

Let me preface this with that my outcome was NOT Pinterest picture worthy!!

I started with a smaller avocado, here they call them Gator eggs, they are a perfect size for one person to cut up and top a sandwich, mix into a chicken salad, top off Taco Tuesday tacos or any other number of yummy things with leaving half the avocado sad and lonely waiting for its turn to be eaten. Because my avocado was small, the hole that the pit left was not big enough for anything but the egg yolk and I hate to waste a good protein filled egg white so instead of wasting some of the egg or hollowing out too much of the avocado to make room I whisked the egg and split it between the two halves of the avocado. This means no gorgeous perfect poached egg yolk floating in the center of my dish but I thought it was the taste that counts not the looks, right?!?

So then I placed my avocado halves in a small baking dish and filled the center with the egg…

IMG_2446

Ok you caught me, I made a pretty big┬ámess—here is the real picture (oops…I’m human, and messy when I cook sometimes!)

IMG_2447

Pop the dish in a preheated 425 degree oven for about 15 minutes, (I leave mine in a tiny bit longer as I like my egg cooked all the way through and 15 minutes leaves the center a bit soft for me, but this is a personal preference) top with your choice of some fresh black pepper, fresh chives, parsley or cilantro and ENJOY!!! Now, if you want to get fancy and adding a few extra calories is not an issue you could also top these with some cheese, or crumbled bacon and a tiny dollop of plain greek yogurt to really take it up a notch.

Cooking it this way blends the two flavors into this warm creamy combination that melts in your mouth and feels way more like a decadent treat than a hearty breakfast.

IMG_2452

Just the Recipe:

  • 1 avocado, cut in half and seed taken out
  • 1-2 eggs (depending on the size of avocado)
  • salt , pepper to taste
  • cilantro or fresh herb of choice for serving
  1. Preheat the oven to 425.
  2. place avocado halves in a small baking dish
  3. fill holes in the avocado with your egg
  4. bake for 15-18 minutes depending on how hard you prefer your eggs cooked
  5. top with salt and pepper and herb of choice
  6. eat with a spoon right out of natures perfectly formed serving bowl (the avocado peel)

 

Leave a Reply

